Counterstream Radio
Inspect the unexpected
Media on Demand
Browse Music and Interviews

New Music USA Board & Councils

New Music USA Board of Directors


Frederick Peters, Chair (President, Warburg Realty Partnership)

Amy Iwano, Vice Chair (Executive Director, University of Chicago Presents)

Matías Tarnopolsky, Secretary (Director, Cal Performances)

Joseph Walker, Treasurer (Vice Chairman, Investment Banking, JP Morgan; Board Member, Roulette)


Theodore Chapin (President/Chief Creative Officer, Rodgers and Hammerstein Organization)

Dorothea Endicott (Arts administrator and composer)

Reena Esmail (Composer; Co-Artistic Director of Shastra)

Daniel S. Godfrey (Professor and Chair, Department of Music, Northeastern University)

James Kendrick (Attorney at Law, Alter, Kendrick & Baron, LLP; Acting President, European American Distributors LLC)

Alan Kornberg (Partner, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison)

Marya Martin (Founder and Artistic Director, Bridgehampton Chamber Music Festival)

Gayle Morgan (Former Program officer, Mary Flagler Cary Charitable Trust)

Phyllis Mills (Philanthropist)

Barbara Petersen (Former Assistant VP, BMI Classical, and Musicologist)

Frances Richard (Consultant, ASCAP)

Esa-Pekka Salonen (Composer; Principal Conductor, London’s Philharmonia Orchestra and the Conductor Laureate for the Los Angeles Philharmonic)

Steven Stucky, Founding Member
In Memoriam

Steve Reich, Trustee Emeritus

Program Council

Seth Boustead (Composer; Host, Relevant Tones)

Courtney Bryan (Pianist, composer)

Sarah Cahill (Pianist, producer, writer)

Michael Ching (Composer, conductor)

Paul Dresher (Composer)

Reena Esmail (Composer, pianist)

Nathalie Joachim (Flutist, composer, producer, singer)

Jennifer Jolley (Composer; co-founder, North American Opera Workshop)

George Lewis (Composer, performer, Edwin H. Case Professor of American Music, Columbia University)

Jimmy Lopez (Composer)

David Ludwig (Composer)

Paula Matthusen (Composer)

Meg Okura (Violinist, composer, erhuist)

Graham Reynolds (Composer, bandleader, improviser)

Derrick Spiva (Composer; artistic director, Bridge to Everywhere)

Dale Trumbore (Composer)