Counterstream Radio
Inspect the unexpected
Media on Demand
Browse Music and Interviews

Chicago Philharmonic presents Sonorous Earth with Third Coast Percussion

Sunday, November 12, 2017
at 3:00 PM

Harris Theater for Music and Dance
205 E. Randolph Drive
Chicago, IL 60601


Event Information

Sonorous Earth

Scott Speck conductor
Third Coast Percussion
Augusta Read Thomas composer

Thomas Sonorous Earth
Tower Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman No. 5
Mozart Symphony No. 41 (Jupiter)

“[Thomas] is without question one of the best and most important composers that this country has today.”
(music critic Edward Reichel)

Explore the meditative and profound sounds of the ringing earth when the Chicago Philharmonic unites with 2017 Grammy award-winning Third Coast Percussion and composer Augusta Read Thomas for the world premiere of the immersive Sonorous Earth. Inspired by her 2012 composition Resounding Earth with the groundbreaking Chicago percussion ensemble, the piece is described as “extraordinarily singular” and features over 300 bells from a variety of cultures and historical periods.

Accompanying the new work is a piece from another ground-breaking female composer, Joan Tower’s fifth Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman. The final of five compositions in the series, this fanfare is an ode to risk-taking and adventurous women across the world, written by a composer who herself paved the way for women to find their musical voice.

Rounding out the program is the exhilarating Symphony No. 41 (Jupiter), Mozart’s last symphony. Powerful, uplifting and transcendent, much like the Roman god from which it got its nickname, the Jupiter, provides a magnificent finale in celebration of our rich universe.

Single tickets $25-$75  | Students $10**

**plus booking fees

This event is associated with Sonorous Earth, a project sponsored by New Music USA.