1
Counterstream Radio
Inspect the unexpected
2
Media on Demand
Browse Music and Interviews

Thomas Paine in Violence (Nov 6-18)

Tuesday, November 6, 2018
at 8:30 PM

HERE Arts Center
145 6th Avenue
New York, NY

$25—45



Event Information

HERE Presents
Thomas Paine in Violence
in association with thingNY

TICKETS:
Mon. Nov. 6 - 8:30pm
Tue. Nov. 7 - 8:30pm
Thu. Nov. 9 - 8:30pm
Fri. Nov. 10 - 8:30pm
Sat. Nov. 11 - 8:30pm
Sun. Nov. 12 - 8:30pm
Wed. Nov. 15 - 8:30pm
Thu. Nov. 16 - 8:30pm
Fri. Nov. 17 - 8:30pm
Sat. Nov. 18 - 8:30pm

Thomas Paine in Violence is an electronic psychedelic opera-sermon set in a radio station in the afterlife of the Founding Father and international activist. Joan La Barbara portrays Paine struggling to broadcast a message of economic justice amidst a whirlwind of lightning-quick singing, autotuned shock-jockery, gadgets, voices, instruments, and sonic chaos.

Created, Written, and Scored by Paul Pinto
Directed by Rick Burkhardt
Scenic Design by Carolyn Mraz
Lighting Design by Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew
Sound Design by Philip White
Choreographed by Chloe Treat
Sound Engineered by Gus Callahan
Production stylist Aliza Simons
Stage Managed by Alex B. West
Ensemble: thingNY
Starring: Joan La BarbaraChristian LuuAndrew MayerPaul Pinto, Eddie Rodriguez Jr.,
Erin Rogers, Mélanie GeninAndrew Livingston, Pat Muchmore, Kathryn Sloat, and Jeffrey Young

Tickets $25-45
Early bird discount! $18 tickets, NOW through 10/25 with code COMMONSENSE

Nov 6-18
Mon, Nov 6 & Tue, Nov 7 @ 8:30PM
Wed-Sun @ 8:30PM

Running time 80 minutes