Counterstream Radio
New Music Streaming 24/7
New Music Playlists
Browse Music, Video, Interviews and more.

“Thomas Piercy: Tokyo to New York” at Bargemusic

Date, location, and tickets

Friday, October 25, 2019
at 7:00 PM

1 Water Street
Brooklyn, NY 11201


event image for “Thomas Piercy: Tokyo to New York” at Bargemusic

Event Information

Bargemusic – Here and Now Series

The October 25, 2019  “Thomas Piercy: Tokyo to New York” concert on the Bargemusic Here and Now  series features works by Tokyo and NYC-based composers, and includes new works composed for clarinetist Thomas Piercy by Chen Yihan, Lyudmilla German, Kyoko Hirai, Zhihua Hu, Miho Sasaki, and Michael Schelle, as well as the United States premiere of Toshi Ichiyanagi’s “Existence.”

The composers range in age from 24 to 96 years, and include recent college graduates as well as composers that have received such recognition as the Pulitzer Prize, the Grammy Award, the Latin Grammy Award, and Japan’s Order of Culture. Composers Chen Yihan, Lyudmilla German, Zhihua Hu, Akemi Naito, Miho Sasaki, Michael Schelle, and Jose Serebrier will be in attendance at the concert. Since 2012, Thomas Piercy and the Tokyo to New York concerts have premiered over 100 works and numerous Japan and United States premieres.

Thomas Piercy, Clarinet
Lish Lindsey, Ryuteki
Xiao Li, Soprano
Zhihua Hu, Piano
Chen Yihan, Piano

Lera Auerbach“The Prayer” for clarinet
Chen Yihan“wither” for soprano, clarinet, and piano. World Premiere *
Lyudmilla German“Trio” for ryuteki, clarinet, and piano. World Premiere *
Kyoko Hirai“Daydream” for clarinet and piano. World Premiere *
Zhihua Hu“Autumn Wind” for clarinet and piano. World Premiere *
Toshi Ichiyanagi“Existence” for clarinet and piano. United States Premiere
Akemi Naito“Solitude” for clarinet and electronics. Clarinet version; World Premiere
Ned Rorem“Far, Far Away” for clarinet and piano
Michael Schelle“The Tragic Paradigm of Miss Mi$-T’s Misguided Expectations” for clarinet, ryuteki, accordion, piano, and percussion. World Premiere *
Miho Sasaki“Drift Ice” for bass clarinet and accordion. New York Premiere *
Jose Serebrier“Tango in Blue” for clarinet and piano.
Emilio Teubal“Rio” for piano.

* Composed for Thomas Piercy

“Tokyo to New York” concerts, under Artistic Director Thomas Piercy, celebrates the connections between Tokyo and New York City with a series of concerts throughout the world. The concerts feature new works composed for Western classical instruments as well as traditional Japanese instruments. The concerts feature composers from Japan and NYC and include a wide variety of styles of music. The musicians of “Tokyo to New York” have had the opportunity to work with many of the Japanese and American composers programmed in these concerts, and since 2012, “Tokyo to New York” and Piercy have performed over 100 world premieres and numerous Japan and United States Premieres.

Thomas Piercy is a critically acclaimed musician with orchestral, concerto, recital and chamber music appearances throughout the Americas, Europe and Asia. He has been described by critics as “Brilliant…playing with refinement and flair…evoking a panache in the contemporary works.”  A frequent performer of new works, he has premiered over 200 works composed for him. He studied at The Juilliard School and Mannes School of Music with Gervase De Peyer, Leon Russianoff, and Kalmen Opperman. Recordings for Albany, Capstone, DGI, Changing Tones, NJST, Tonada Records and more.  www.thomaspiercy.com 


Participants: Thomas Piercy