Counterstream Radio
New Music Streaming 24/7
New Music Playlists
Browse Music, Video, Interviews and more.

Cloches II

By Arthur Levering

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

For 8 players: flute (piccolo), clarinet (bass clarinet), piano, percussion (vibraphone, marimba, glockenspiel), violin, viola, cello, contrabass.

Cloches II contains many allusions to the sound of bells, from the oscillating 4th in the piccolo and clarinet at the start, to a shameless but brief reference to Big Ben in the cello near the end. It was written during an idyllic year in Rome and was inspired by the tolling of that city’s thousands of church bells. Cloches II was commissioned by the Gruppo Strumentale “Musica d’Oggi”.