Counterstream Radio
New Music Streaming 24/7
New Music Playlists
Browse Music, Video, Interviews and more.
profile image

Hartford Independent Chamber Orchestra

Hartford, CT         

Comprising a roster of premier Hartford-based musicians under the baton of Daniel D’Addio, the Hartford Independent Chamber Orchestra is devoted to the promotion of the music of our time through superb artistry. Hailed as a “significant champion of new music” (WNPR)  and “an invaluable addition to the Hartford musical scene, both for its presentation of the rich chamber orchestra repertoire, and its commitment to newer and commissioned works” (Robert Carl), HICO forges a unique path among orchestras in Connecticut, championing the music of living, often Connecticut-based composers, for chamber orchestra and chamber ensembles. Having commissioned and performed numerous exceptional pieces by local composers, HICO engages audiences throughout Greater Hartford and beyond with programming aimed at broadening
musical perspectives.

HICO is committed to collaborating with local arts organizations, and has worked with Capital Community College, Central Connecticut State University, Charter Oak Cultural Center, Eastern Connecticut State University, Hartford Opera Theater, Hartford Public Library, The Hartt School and the Hartt Community Division, the New Britain Museum of American Art, PuppetSweat Theater, and the Women Composers Festival of Hartford. Collaborators planned for the 2018-2019 season include the Connecticut Guitar Society, in a performance featuring the premiere of  Thomas Schuttenhelm’s chamber cycle, Quincunx.

The orchestra has numerous premieres to its name, including  commissioned works by Neely Bruce, Anthony Cornicello, Gala Flagello, Arthur Hernandez, Ryan Jesperson, Matthew Kennedy, David Macbride, Charles Menoche, Jessica Rudman, Matt Sargent, Michael Schelle, Thomas Schuttenhelm, and Ken Steen. HICO prides itself in bringing world premieres to the Greater Hartford region, but also performs a wide variety of music of our time. In just the past two seasons, HICO has performed works by John Adams, Thomas Albert, Derek Bermel, Lauren Bernofsky, Morton Feldman, Stephen Gryc, Kristen Kuster, Osvaldo Lacerda, Lewis Nielson, and Roberto Sierra.

HICO’s core ensemble includes sixteen stellar musicians under the baton of Dr. Daniel D’Addio, a trumpeter and conductor with a long history of new music advocacy. Programs feature the core ensemble – Janet Jacobson (violin), Nicole Stacy (violin), Kevin Bishop (viola), Pablo Issa Skaric (cello), Chris Langhans (bass), Mary Matthews (flute), Charles Huang (oboe), Alex Kollias (clarinet), Mason Adams (bassoon), Cathryn Cummings (horn), Seth Bailey (trumpet), Jordan Jacobson (trombone), Allison Lazur (tuba), Michael Anderson (percussion), and Elisabeth Tomczyk (piano) – in variable formation, from small chamber groups to sinfonietta and larger chamber orchestra.

For more information and concert dates, visit www.HICOrchestra.com

Excerpt from Antiphonies for Charlie by Neely Bruce

Commissioned for and premiered at the Hartford New Music Festival, Neely Bruce’s “Antiphonies for Charlie” is a large scale homage to one of New England’s musical masters. The work was premiered in a 2013 collaborative performance with the Generous New Music Ensemble with several performances throughout the Greater Hartford region.

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

Excerpt from Through the Bright Lights of Hell by Michael Schelle

Also commissioned for the Hartford New Music Festival, Michael Schelle’s “Through the Bright Lights of Hell” is a concerto grosso featuring both the Hartford Independent Chamber Orchestra and Generous New Music Ensemble. As part of the Hartford New Music Festival, it also received several performances throughout the Greater Hartford region.

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

What we talk about when we talk in 140 characters by Ryan Jesperson

Commissioned by HICO in 2014, Ryan Jesperson’s “What we talk about when we talk in 140 characters” is a 5-movement suite depicting life on the Internet. Jesperson says the piece “… is a mash-up of an old minimalist master and the new—Raymond Carver and Twitter. Like Twitter, I wanted to try and challenge myself by limiting the length of each movement, in this case, to 140 seconds.” The piece has become a favorite in HICO’s repertoire. This video is from HICO’s residency at Eastern Connecticut State University in the spring of 2017.

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.