Counterstream Radio
New Music Streaming 24/7
New Music Playlists
Browse Music, Video, Interviews and more.
profile image

Jack Langdon

Chicago, IL      

Jack Langdon (b. 1994, Madison, WI) is a Chicago-based composer/performer, media artist, and writer. His work utilizes instrumental performance, theater, new media, and installation in concert, site-specific, and digital contexts. His work is conceptually concerned with reflecting on and reorganizing musical production and creating environments for deeper social engagement in performance. He utilizes intermedia as a means to heighten contextual awarenesses of performance.

As a performer, Langdon has premiered works for organ, piano, and guitar.​ His areas of focus include pieces involving long durations, sonic fragility, improvisation, and theater.

As a writer, his work focuses on the political economy of music, social interaction in performance, institutional politics, aesthetics beyond capital, and expanded notions of musical practice.

Langdon will be earning his Master of Arts in Digital Musics from Dartmouth College in Fall 2019 and has received his Bachelor of Music from St. Olaf College in Spring 2017.

His works have been performed by Southland Ensemble, RenegadeEnsemble, The Minnesota Sinfonia, Joshua Weinberg, Mivos Quartet, The Vital Organ Project, and The St. Olaf Band.

His work has been recognized by The McKnight Foundation, The Lynn and Mary Steen Foundation, The University of Tennessee Knoxville Contemporary Music Festival, St. Olaf College’s Collaborative Undergraduate Research and Inquiry program, and the Wisconsin School Music Association, among others.

interiority (for string quartet)

This work for string quartet was written for The Walden School’s Creative Musicians Retreat of 2016. I wrote this piece for Mivos Quartet (Lauren Cauley, Hanna Hurwitz, Victor Lowrie, and Mariel Roberts)

“interiority” is a term that expresses the capacity for architectural, filmic, literary, and musical spaces to “rule out the exterior.” Repetitive music has the capacity to greatly achieve this phenomenon as it, in the absence of new material, places the onus of perception on the interior states of the listener.

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

1.a for cello, trombone, and live electronics

This work was written in collaboration with cellist Willem Mudde and trombonist Adam Lee Sanders. 1.a is a study for a larger piece titled “taking time” which explores various types of open forms, non-linear and recursive temporality, and extended techniques.

1.a was premiered during St. Olaf College’s Fall Fresh Ink Composer’s Forum. (Willem Mudde, vlc / Adam Lee Sanders, tbn / Jack Langdon, electronics)

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.