Counterstream Radio
New Music Streaming 24/7
New Music Playlists
Browse Music, Video, Interviews and more.
profile image

Jason Hohn

Pittsburgh, PA   

Praised for his "exquisite tone" (CVNC: Classical Voice of North Carolina), violist  Jason Hohn, began his viola studies in Bismarck, ND. Mr. Hohn received his Bachelor of Arts in Music and German Studies from Minot State University as a student of Dr. Jon Rumney and did his Master of Music in Viola Performance studies at the Carnegie Mellon University School of Music under the direction of Toby Appel. As a member of the Dorothy J. Starling Foundation String Quartet, Mr. Hohn has been featured in performances at the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, Steinway Hall, Severance Hall, and Tong Ji University in Shanghai.  Mr. Hohn has studied chamber music with members of the Ying Quartet, Los Angeles Piano Quartet, and the Cuarteto Latinoamericano. Mr. Hohn has received fellowshipts to  the Brevard Music Center, the National Orchestral Institute, the American Institute of Music Studies in Graz, Austria, and the Ohio Light Opera. 

An ardent advocate of new music, As a member of the Freya String Quartet, he was a musician in residence with the Charlotte New Music Festival, where he mentored emerging composers and premiered over twenty of their new works. He has also worked closely with composers Armando Bayolo, Claudia Queen, Matthew Peterson, and others on new works for viola, including the world premiere of Bayolo’s Waiting to Sing… for viola and piano. 

Currently residing in Pittsburgh, PA, Mr. Hohn maintains an active viola and violin studio and performs regularly with many of the region’s ensembles, including the Pittsburgh Opera Orchestra, the Pittsburgh Ballet Theater Orchestra, the Wheeling Symphony, and the Westmoreland Symphony Orchestra, Opera Theater of Pittsburgh Summerfest and Resonance Works. He plays on a contemporary viola by Kelvin Scott. In his spare time he enjoys distance running, gardening, trying new foods and reading.

Armando Bayolo’s “Waiting to Sing…” for Viola and Piano

World Premiere Performance

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

Matthew Peterson – “Rosorna”

Freya String Quartet, October 11, 2013

I'm sorry, this media seems to be unavailable.

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.