Counterstream Radio
New Music Streaming 24/7
New Music Playlists
Browse Music, Video, Interviews and more.

Ode for Chorus and Orchestra – Movement 1: The Anticipation

By Jonathan Bailey Holland

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

Commissioned by the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, Ode was meant to precede Beethoven’s 9th symphony. It begins with the orchestra emerging from the sound of the chorus, and presents music that is introspective while also alluding to some of the motives we hear in Beethoven’s epitomic opus.