Counterstream Radio
Inspect the unexpected
Media on Demand
Browse Music and Interviews
profile image

Leonard Mark Lewis

Charlotte, NC   

Composer Leonard Mark Lewis (b. 1973, Great Yarmouth, England) (D.M.A., Composition, University of Texas; M.M., Composition, University of Houston) is a composer, conductor and pianist specializing in new music. Dr. Lewis, a member of B.M.I., is the recipient of awards from ASCAP (Morton Gould Young Composer Award), B.M.I., Columbia University (Bearns Prize), Voices of Change (Russell Horn Young Composers Award), Frank Tichelli and MACRO. While on the faculty at the University of Missouri, Lewis was named Missouri’s Composer of the Year (2002) by Missouri Music Teacher’s Association (MMTA). His Concerto for Orchestra, was chosen for inclusion in the 2001 American Composers Orchestra Whitaker New Music Readings series, and was conducted by Dennis Russell Davies. In addition to his catalog of solo works, compositions by Lewis have been commissioned and performed by an array of ensembles including the North/South Consonance, Truman State Orchestra, AURA (University of Houston), Symposium for New Band Music, University of Texas Composer’s Orchestra, New Music Camerata (East Carolina University), NACUSA, Concordia Trio, Charlotte Civic Symphony, Hyperion Ensemble and numerous wind ensembles. Lewis has received performances at the World Saxophone Congress in St. Andrews Scotland, Germany, London, New York City, Wroclaw, Poland to name a few. His music is published by Dorn, Manhattan Beach, Southern and Haggelstein. Lewis’ composition teachers were Carlisle Floyd, Dan Welcher and Robert Nelson. Lewis has served on the faculty at the University of Missouri-Columbia and Cy-Fair College (Chair and Associate Professor of Music). He was recently a guest pianist at the Gratchenfestival in Amsterdam. He is currently Associate Professor of Composition/Theory at Winthrop University. 


Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Wind Orchestra

This piece was commissioned by Kenneth Tse, one of the top classical saxophonists in the world. The work was named “…one of the most sought after concertos in the saxophone repertoire” and said to be” opera for a single-reed instrument.”

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

Wake Lucia: a Joycean operatic rite

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.