Counterstream Radio
New Music Streaming 24/7
New Music Playlists
Browse Music, Video, Interviews and more.

Matt Sargent

Buffalo, NY      

Matt Sargent is a composer and guitarist based in Woodstock, New York. His music grows out of an appreciation of natural resonances, recursive structures, computer modeling, and outdoor listening. He often writes music that responds specifically to the sonic features of acoustic spaces, an interest which has led him to produce work in many unique locations, including the grain elevators of Buffalo’s “Silo City” and the Rhyolite ghost town of Death Valley. His music has been described as “so simple, so natural, and yet sets up a complex set of interactions.” (Jennie Gottschalk, SoundExpanse)

His music has recently been heard in concerts and installations at the 2016 Frequency Festival at Constellation (Chicago), River Concert Series of the Chesapeake Orchestra (Washington D.C.), Darmstadt Ferienkurse für Neue Musik (Germany), New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival, the Wulf (Los Angeles), the Stone (New York), Machine Project (Los Angeles), SEM Ensemble’s “Emerging Composers” series, Kent State University’s “Vanguard New Music” series, June in Buffalo Festival, Atlantic Center for the Arts, Yale University Haskins Laboratories, and the Museum of Contemporary Art Cleveland, among others. He is a 2016 composer-in-residence with Ensemble Mise-En and the I-Park Foundation. His work was recently included in “Experimental Music Since 1970” (Bloomsbury, 2016).

Matt is a visiting assistant professor of electronic music and sound at Bard College.