Counterstream Radio
New Music Streaming 24/7
New Music Playlists
Browse Music, Video, Interviews and more.

Michael Ippolito

San Marcos, TX      

      Praised by the New York Times for his “polished orchestration” that “glitters, from big-shoulders brass to eerily floating strings,” Michael Ippolito’s music has been performed by leading musicians in venues around the world. Drawing on a rich musical background of classical and folk music, and taking inspiration from visual art, literature and other art forms, Ippolito has forged a distinctive musical voice in a body of work spanning orchestral, chamber and vocal music. 

     His orchestral music has been conducted by Edo de Waart, Marin Alsop, Michael Francis, David Alan Miller and Jeffrey Milarsky in performances by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra, the Florida Orchestra, the Cabrillo Festival Orchestra, the Albany Symphony Orchestra and the Juilliard Orchestra. His chamber music has been performed by the Attacca Quartet, Dinosaur Annex, and janus, among others, and his vocal music has been championed by sopranos Joélle Harvey and Lindsay Kesselman.

     He has received commissions from numerous organizations, including Carnegie Hall, Chamber Music America, the Florida Orchestra, the University of Georgia Wind Ensemble, ensemble 20/21 in Cologne, and the New York Choreographic Institute.

     He was a composer fellow at the Aspen Music Festival and the Cultivate program at the Copland House in 2012. From 2004-2011, he was a participating composer and performer in MusicX, an innovative festival of new music in Cincinnati and Switzerland, where he worked as General Manager from 2008-2011. He has also participated in the “Upbeat Hvar” International Summer School in Croatia, Yiddish Summer Weimar in Germany and the Oregon Bach Festival’s Composers Symposium. 

     Ippolito is currently Assistant Professor of Composition at Texas State University. He studied with John Corigliano at The Juilliard School and with Joel Hoffman and Michael Fiday at the Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music.

A Feast of Fools

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

Strange Loops, for violin and cello (2018)

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

Nocturne, for orchestra (2011)

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.