Counterstream Radio
New Music Streaming 24/7
New Music Playlists
Browse Music, Video, Interviews and more.

The Syllable Series

By Nate Wooley

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

The Syllable series is a group of solo trumpet compositions based on the International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA). In these works, Wooley uses the various natural positions of the mouth, tongue, teeth, throat and nasal cavity found in the sounding of phonemes to set up various mechanisms for sound production on the trumpet. This excerpt is from Mnoad records 2013 release of [9] Syllables and features some the notation of the score.