Counterstream Radio
Inspect the unexpected
Media on Demand
Browse Music and Interviews

Nick DePinna

Los Angeles, CA      

San Francisco bay area native turned Los Angeles resident and enthusiast, composer and trombonist Nick DePinna received his M.A. in Music Composition from UCLA in 2010. During his time at UCLA, he studied with Kenny Burrell, Paul Chihara, David Lefkowitz, and James W. Newton, among others.

As a trombonist, Nick has performed, toured, and/or recorded with a large variety of groups, including Kenny Burrell’s Los Angeles Jazz Orchestra Unlimited, the Brian Setzer Orchestra, the Billy Vaughn Orchestra, the John Daversa Big Band, the Tom Kubis Big Band, the Mike Barone Big Band, the Roger Neumann Rather Large Band, the Long Beach Opera, the Pasadena Pops, and co-leads his own jazz orchestra, “Jazz Nexus.” He has also recorded and performed with the likes of Dee Dee Bridgewater, Gerald Wilson, Moses Sumney, Bobby Caldwell, Paloma Faith, Jon Jang, Herbie Hancock, Hubert Laws, Jerry Lee Lewis, The Temptations, Kenny Loggins, Bobby Rodriguez, Dianne Schuur, and Wayne Shorter.

As a composer, Nick has been a part of the Kennedy Center Betty Carter Jazz Ahead Young Composers Program, as well as the SFJAZZ Young Composers Collective. He was named the 2010 BMI William Goldstein Award recipient and received two ASCAP Louis Armstrong Awards. Nick’s music can be heard frequently on HBO, VH-1, CMT, and National Geographic Wild.  Film credits include “Every Rose” (2007), “ChainSmoke” (2008), “Escape” (2009), and “The Titans of Newark” (2012). He is currently assistant to and protégé of Hollywood based film and television composer David Norland, arranging and orchestrating music for Disney Channel, Disney Junior, Nintendo, and ABC’s “Good Morning America,” “20/20,” and “Nightline.” He is also assistant to jazz and new music composer James W. Newton Jr.

Current projects include scoring Casey De Fremery’s debut feature film, “War Path,” his progressive electro-acoustic pop band, “Nova,” a jazz opera entitled “Strange Fellowe,” with collaborators Hitomi Oba and Jerome Parker, “LA Signal Lab,” a Los Angeles based new music collective, and a classical/ambient/jazz/medieval crossover group with Los Angeles early music vocal trio VoxFire.

Aqua Corelli – liqua.largo, 地下水.vivam

Movements 3 and 4 from “Aqua Corelli,” from L.A. Signal Lab’s album, “Whisper and Howl” (2015) |

Nick DePinna – synthesizers |
Ross Garren – piano, fender rhodes, chromatic harmonica |
Hitomi Oba – tenor saxophone, percussion |
Adrianne Pope – violin |
Linnea Powell – viola

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

New World (clip)

from Nova’s debut album, “Periapsis” (2011) |

Hitomi Oba – vocals, synthesizers, percussion |
Nick DePinna – synthesizers, trombone, guitar, percussion, programming

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

Strange Fellowe, Act I: Love – “The Tryst”

from “Strange Fellowe, a jazz opera” (2013) |

text by Walter de la Mare and Jerome A. Parker |
music by Hitomi Oba and Nick DePinna |
Anderson Davis – vocals |
Kristolyn Lloyd – vocals |
Remy Le Boeuf – alto saxophone |
Hitomi Oba – tenor saxophone |
Tim McKay – baritone saxophone |
Nick DePinna – synthesizers |
Ross Garren – piano |
Owen Clapp – bass |
Michael Lindsey – drum set and percussion

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.