Counterstream Radio
New Music Streaming 24/7
New Music Playlists
Browse Music, Video, Interviews and more.
profile image

Robert Scott Thompson

Atlanta, GA         

Robert Scott Thompson is a composer of instrumental and electroacoustic music and is currently Professor of Music Composition at Georgia State University in Atlanta. He earned the B.Mus. degree from the University of Oregon and M.A. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of California at San Diego (UCSD). His primary teachers include Bernard Rands, Roger Reynolds, Joji Yuasa and F. Richard Moore. He has created work in a wide variety of forms ranging from chamber and orchestral music to works for the virtuoso soloist, computer music, and video and performance art. He is the recipient of several prizes and distinctions for his music including the First Prize in the 2003 Musica Nova Competition (Czech Republic), the First Prize in the 2001 Pierre Schaeffer Competition (Italy) and awards in the XVI Concorso Internazionale "Luigi Russolo" (Italy), Irino Prize Foundation Competition for Chamber Music (Japan), and Concours International de Musique Electroacoustique de Bourges(France), among others. He was a Research Assistant of the Center for Music Experiment (CME) Computer Audio Research Lab (CARL) throughout the 1980’s, assisting significant composers in the realization of advanced computer music works. In 1991, he was named a Fulbright Research Scholar (CIES) and was Composer in Residence at the Danish Institute of Electroacoustic Music (DIEM) where he collaborated on fundamental research and composed the long-form computer music work – The Strong Eye. Over the past decade, he has become increasingly well known internationally for his instrumental and electroacoustic works and also for his many recordings which have been broadcast worldwide. In 2007 he was Composer in Residence at IMEB under the auspices of the Commande Commission. His music is published on recordings by EMF Media, Neuma, Drimala, Capstone, Hypnos, Oasis/Mirage, Groove, Lens, Space for Music, Zero Music, Twelfth Root, relaxed Machinery, NME and Aucourant record labels, among others, and in print by American Composers Edition (ACA) and Aucourant Media Productions (AMP).

Cathedral Sky (1997)

Tribute to Bob Moog.

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

Porcelain Sky (2012)

Electroacoustic Music.

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

Escape Velocities for solo flute (1989)

John Fonville, flute.

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.