Counterstream Radio
Inspect the unexpected
Media on Demand
Browse Music and Interviews

Jake Schepps

BOULDER, CO         

Jake Schepps  has made a name  as a banjo renaissance man, an artist with not only an adroit touch on his instrument but an intrepid, imaginative vision for contemporary string band music. Schepps and his quintet just released “Entwined,” an album of newly commissioned classical works for bluegrass string band ( banjo, fiddle, guitar, mandolin and double-bass) with compositions by Marc Mellits, Matt McBane, Gyan Riley and our own Matt Flinner.  Schepps’s venturesome album An Evening in the Village: The Music of Béla Bartók (2011) finds common ground between the piquant beauty of the great Hungarian composer’s take on Eastern European folk melodies and the big-sky vibrancy of new American acoustic music.  

Jake is the ringleader his quintet, a traditional 5-piece stringband that includes some of the most heralded acoustic musicians of our time. Each member has a long history of forging paths and pushing traditional boundaries in string band music. Mandolinist Matt Flinner has made a career out of playing acoustic music in new ways. His trio began doing Music du Jour tours in 2006, in which each member of the group writes a new composition the day of the show, and all three new pieces are performed on that evening’s concert, and he also plays with the Grammy–nominated Modern Mandolin Quartet.  Guitarist Jordan Tice has established a reputation as one of the most exciting bluegrass musicians in the country.  He also plays in and composes for the Haas/Kowert/Tice Trio.  Violinist Ryan Drickey is armed with a master’s degree in performance from University of Colorado, as well as a RockyGrass Fiddle championship.  Ryan recently returned from a year on a Fulbright scholarship studying traditional Swedish folk music. And young bassist Andrew Small, has a music degree from Yale and doubles on old-time fiddle, rounding up the ensemble’s visionary sound.

Jake Schepps Quintet: Entwined

Performers: Jake Schepps (banjo), Matt Flinner (mandolin), Ross Martin (guitar) Grant Gordy (guitar on Flatiron), Enion Pelta-Tiller (violin), Ryan Drickey (violin on Drawn), Eric Thorin (bass)

Composers: Marc Mellits (Flatiron), Matt McBane (Drawn), Matt Flinner (Migrations), and Gyan Riley (Stumble Smooth)

Produced by Jake Schepps

Purchase the album with liner notes, custom artwork, and bonus tracks here:

Filmed and edited by Blayne Chastain and Jem Moore at Cloudgate Studios www.cloudgate.tv

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.