Counterstream Radio
Inspect the unexpected
Media on Demand
Browse Music and Interviews

Yu-Hui Chang

Boston, MA      

Using a decidedly contemporary language of diverse harmonic color, inventive timbre and ingenious effects, award-winning composer Yu-Hui Chang (b. 1970) has written a wide range of music that compels and resonates with professional musicians and audiences alike.  She is the recipient of fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the American Academy of Arts and Letters, Radcliffe Institute at Harvard University, and commissions from the Fromm Music Foundation, Koussevitzky Music Foundation, Barlow Endowment for Music Composition, and Meet The Composer.  Additional honors include the Aaron Copland Award, Yoshiro Irino Memorial Prize from the Asian Composers’ League, and the Council for Cultural Affairs of the Executive Yuan (Taiwanese government agency, now Ministry of Culture.) 

A native of Taiwan, Yu-Hui began her intensive music training in piano, voice, and music theory at the age of six, and started seriously pursuing composition as a career at the age of fourteen.  After graduating from the National Taiwan Normal University, she came to the United States in 1994 and received her graduate degrees from Brandeis University (Ph.D.) and Boston University (MM).  Now an Associate Professor at Brandeis University, Yu-Hui taught at the University of California-Davis between 1999-2006.  As a dedicated promoter of contemporary music, Yu-Hui co-directed the Empyrean Ensemble, the ensemble-in-residence at UC Davis, between 2000-2006.  In 2009 she was appointed Co-Artistic Director of Dinosaur Annex Music Ensemble, a leading exponent of contemporary music performance since 1975.  Collectively she has curated more than seventy concerts.

Performances of Yu-Hui’s compositions have taken places across continents in the Netherlands, Italy, UK, China, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, and throughout the U.S. to critical acclaim by many first-rate musicians and organizations such as the National Symphony Orchestra of Taiwan, Taipei Symphony Orchestra, San Francisco Chamber Orchestra, Sacramento Philharmonic Orchestra, Nieuw Ensemble, Lydian String Quartet, and Alexander String Quartet.  Among the numerous commissions she has received are those from the Boston Modern Orchestra Project, Taipei Symphony Orchestra Chorus, Left Coast Chamber Ensemble, Earplay, Alea III, Volti, Triple Helix Piano Trio, Ju Percussion Group, Monadnock Music Festival, Arts Council Korea, Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts, National Chiang Kai-Shek Cultural Center of Taiwan, the 2003 Seoul International Festival of Women in Music Today, and many other individual musicians.

In the summer of 2011, Yu-Hui served as Guest Composer at the Wellesley Composers Conference.  She has also been featured in the Asian Music Festival in Tokyo, the Asian Contemporary Music Festival in Seoul, the Pacific Rim Music Festival at UC Santa Cruz, and the Festival of New American Music at California State University – Sacramento.  In March 2006, Works and Process at the New York Guggenheim Museum presented three of her works, highlighting Yu-Hui as a new talent of the younger generation.

At the Brink of the Chill for piano quintet (2009) (mvt 1 of 3)

Commissioned by the Koussevitzky Music Foundation and the Left Coast Chamber Ensemble / Performed by the Left Coast Chamber Ensemble

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

Pu Songling’s Bizarre Tales (2011) for erhu, pipa, yangqin, piccolo/alto flute, bass clarinet, and percussion (mvt. 2 of 5)

Commissioned by Meet The Composer | for Music from China

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.