Counterstream Radio
New Music Streaming 24/7
New Music Playlists
Browse Music, Video, Interviews and more.

Bach Unwound

Cellist Ashley Bathgate commissions large-scale work from Brooklyn's Sleeping Giant composer collective, inspired by Bach's Cello Suites.

The Latest Update

Second Inversion streaming Bach Unwound!

Posted on February 19, 2016 by Ashley Bathgate

Hey everyone! 

If you missed the premiere of Bach Unwound at (le) Poisson Rouge last month, you can still hear it, live, streaming on Second Inversion:



More Updates ▼

Link for tickets, new logo!

Posted on November 9, 2015 by Ashley Bathgate

Hey y’all, 

Check out this link to LPR’s website to buy your tickets for the premiere of Bach Unwound on January 12, 2016 – 7:30pm!

and below is our new logo for the project, designed by the lovely Anna Singer




Bach Unwound: premiere date set!

Posted on October 19, 2015 by Ashley Bathgate

I am excited to announce that Bach Unwound will have its premiere January 12, 2016 at (le) Poisson Rouge on Metropolis Ensemble’s Resident Artist Series!

I was so fortunate to have a beautiful 3 week residency at Avaloch Farm Music Institute this past August where I was able to meet with some of the Sleeping Giant composers to workshop ideas for their new pieces! Those pieces are now coming in and I am beyond thrilled to start diving into this music, not to mention what an amazing journey it has been to revisit and explore Bach’s 6 Suites for the cello. 

Below is a clip that Jacob Cooper took during his visit to Avaloch Farm where we tried some new things out … double bow action … need I say more? 

So pumped!! 


Bach Unwound

Metropolis Ensemble’s latest Resident Artist Series Project at (le) Poisson Rouge

Join cellist Ashley Bathgate in collaboration with the Brooklyn-based composer collective Sleeping Giant (Timo Andres, Chris Cerrone, Jacob Cooper, Ted Hearne, Robert Honstein, and Andrew Norman) as she premieres an entirely new series of reflections inspired by the Unaccompanied Cello Suites of J.S. Bach.

Throughout the twentieth century, composers such as Benjamin Britten, George Crumb, and Iannis Xenakis built upon the form established by Bach, expanding the instrument’s technical and sonic capabilities while paying homage to his legacy.

Sleeping Giant represents a young, stylistically diverse, and daring composer-collective well-suited to redefine the cello as a solo instrument. Each member of Sleeping Giant will compose one movement of the new suite, basing it loosely on a corresponding movement of their choice from the original Bach suites, but free to use the music as an inspiration for expressing and expanding his personal compositional voice. 

Bach Unwound will incorporate extended performance techniques, live electronics, and external media resulting in a radical deconstruction and re-imagination of the original music. Collectively forming a single, concert-length work, this multi-composer collaboration will juxtapose contemporary and historical practice to create a new recital experience.

Project Media

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

by Jacob Cooper

for solo cello and live processing
(excerpt from live performance at MASSMoCA July 2013)

Piano Quintet – II. Boulder Pushing

I'm sorry, this media seems to be unavailable.

Features: Timo Andres

Piano Quintet:
II. Boulder Pushing (excerpt)

by Timo Andres

performers: Elias String Quartet with Jonathan Biss, piano

“Invisible Cities” Scene 3, “Language”
Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

Score and libretto by Christopher Cerrone, based on the novel by Italo Calvino. This is a live performance taken from 10/26/13 in Union Station, LA. Performed by: CEDRIC BERRY, ASHLEY FAATOALIA, DELARAM KAMAREH, ASHLEY KNIGHT, MARIA ELENA ALTANY, SARAH BEATY, STEPHEN ANASTASIA, CALE OLSON, voices ORCHESTRA OF INVISIBLE CITIES MARC LOWENSTEIN, conductor

Start and End Dates



New York, New York

3 updates
Last update on February 19, 2016

Project Created By

New York City, New York
A native of Saratoga Springs, NY, cellist Ashley Bathgate has gained international renown as both a soloist and chamber musician. The New York Times writes, “Ms. Bathgate’s rich tone, fluid dynamics and imaginative phrasing captured the magic.” Equally at home in both the concert hall and the rock club, Ashley focuses on presenting concerts that…

In Collaboration With

Jackson Heights, New York
The United States of America, New York
Los Angeles, California
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
New York, New York


Leave a Reply