Counterstream Radio
Inspect the unexpected
Media on Demand
Browse Music and Interviews

Bel Canto: A Symphonic Canvas

A brand new, 30-minute orchestral suite from "Bel Canto," the opera by Jimmy López.


Bel Canto: A Symphonic Canvas, an orchestral suite in three movements.

Published by Filarmonika.

Duration: 30 minutes.

From the composer, Jimmy López:

The Opera was one of the most exhilarating experiences of my career. From its inception back in 2010, through its announcement in 2012 and subsequent premiere in 2015, culminating with its nation-wide broadcast on PBS in January of 2017, it encompassed a period of my life which saw me grow personally and professionally, defining my thirties, both as an artist and human being. Commissioned by the Lyric Opera of Chicago as part of the Renée Fleming initiative, Bel Canto is based on the homonymous, best-selling novel by Ann Patchett, which is, in turn, inspired by real events that took place in Lima, Peru between  1996-97. The creation of the libretto fell into the hands of Pulitzer prize winner, Nilo Cruz. Bel Canto: A Symphonic Canvas, captures the essence of the opera, highlighting some of its most striking instrumental and vocal moments. Those who have already seen the opera will recognize the overall arch of the story condensed into a mere 30 minutes, while those who have not, will find this instrumental suite, with its classic three movement structure, satisfying on its own. Like the opera, the first movement, titled “Peru, Real and Unreal”, begins with the Overture and continues uninterrupted all the way to the first entrance of the chorus on a beautifully poetic passage, here rewritten for brass and woodwinds: “Is the Inca Empire the Earth’s skin? Are our rainforests the Earth’s tresses?” [….]

Bel Canto: A Symphonic Canvas has been co-commissioned by the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and Bremen Philharmonic. My special gratitude goes to the FWSO and its principal conductor, Miguel Harth-Bedoya, without whose initiative this commission would not have been made possible. The world premiere performances will take place in Atlanta, with subsequent performances in Fort Worth, Washington DC [presented by the FWSO at the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts’ SHIFT: A Festival of American Orchestras], and Bremen [Germany] during March, April, and May of 2018.

Project Media

Peru Negro by Jimmy López: Behind the Scenes
Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

This video provides some context to the previous collaboration between the FWSO and composer Jimmy López.

Start and End Dates



Fort Worth, Texas

Project Created By


Leave a Reply