Counterstream Radio
New Music Streaming 24/7
New Music Playlists
Browse Music, Video, Interviews and more.

Digital Streaming of "SONiC: Sounds of a New Century"

SONiC: Sounds of a New Century - October 16th, New York Stories - October 23rd, Orchestra Underground: 21st Firsts


SONiC (Sounds of a New Century) is a ground-breaking festival of 21st century music featuring more than 60 composers age 40 and under. SONiC is the single largest musical event focusing on what the most innovative and exciting musical creators are doing now. Attracting thousands of young, culturally-aware listeners from all around New York City, SONiC promises to be one of the highlights of the fall music scene, and a touchstone for the best in new American concert music.

SONiC runs Thursday, October 15 through Friday, October 23, 2015. Produced by American Composers Orchestra (ACO), the award-winning ensemble widely recognized as “the orchestra that has done the most for new American music, SONiC events range from a day-long marathon featuring dozens of performers, to late-night “After Hours” concerts featuring hybrid jazz & classical artists; from new collaborations between emerging composers and choreographers, to new music for robots; to a free “All World Premiere” symphony orchestra concert.

Some highlights of ACO’s SONiC are:

}  9 days of new music by more than 60 composers age 40 & under, October 15 – October 23, 2015.

}  20 world premieres, multiple US & NYC debuts.

}  Performances by American Composers Orchestra, plus 13 ensembles from around the U.S., Europe and Latin America.

}  Concerts at Carnegie Hall, the Winter Garden at Brookfield Place, & other major venues around NYC.

Based on a prototype festival launched in 2011, SONiC will be an unparalleled musical event and the “go to” place for forward-thinking audiences. The previous festival was named to numerous Top 10 lists, and brought regional and world-wide attention to the incredibly diverse work of dozens of young and emerging composers.

A grant from New Music USA will help support the expenses for digital streaming of the orchestra’s performances on October 16th and 23rd.

It is the hope of ACO to provide further benefits to our feature composers by contracting streaming services from the venues in which the orchestra will be the main collaborator.The concerts will be taking place on October 16th (Winter Garden at Brookfield Place) and October 23rd (Zankel Hall at Carnegie Hall) and will feature a total of 8 composers:

– Angelica Negron
– Andy Akiho
– Alex Mincek
– Judd Greenstein
– Michael-Thomas Foumai
– Melody Eotvos
– Hanna lash
– Conrad Winslow


Project Media

SONiC Festival 2015 – Official Preview
Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.

Official Preview of the 2015 SONiC Festival featuring its curators Derek Bermel and Anna Clyne, highlighting much of the festival’s artistic richness.

Start and End Dates



New York, New York

Project Created By

494 Eighth Avenue, Suite 503, NY, NY 10001, New York
ACO is the only orchestra in the world dedicated to the creation, performance, preservation and promulgation of music by American composers. ACO champions today’s brightest emerging and established composers, incubates new ideas, develops talent, and serves as an advocate for American composers. The creation of new opportunities for American composers and new orchestral music is…


Leave a Reply