Counterstream Radio
New Music Streaming 24/7
New Music Playlists
Browse Music, Video, Interviews and more.


A series of concerts combining dance and live music. Premiers and masterpieces by NYC- and Tokyo-based composers.


“Tokyo and New York” ( 東京 と ニューヨーク) celebrates the connections between Tokyo and New York City with a series of performances in NYC combining dance with live music chosen from over 80 composers that have been involved in “Tokyo and New York” performances. 

Thomas Piercy (clarinet/bass clarinet, hichiriki),  the artistic director of “Tokyo and New York” and a critically acclaimed performer of Western and traditional Japanese instruments, will be joined by Miki Orihara, a protege of Martha Graham, and for many years a principal dancer of the Graham company.  Other performers will include pianists Chen Yihan and Fernando Otero, members of the New York Gagaku Ensemble (traditional Japanese instruments), as well as performers from previous “Tokyo and New York” performances.

The performances will feature new works composed for Western classical instruments as well as traditional Japanese instruments. They include a wide variety of styles of music and dance, from Japanese avant-garde to contemporary classical, abstract to minimalism, J-pop to jazz-influenced pieces.

The performers of “Tokyo to New York” have had the opportunity to work with many of the Japanese and American composers programmed in these performances.  The composers have ranged from 17 to 97 years of age.  They come from all walks of life and experience: from university students to university professors; from self-taught composers to composers with PhDs; from emerging composers to composers that have won such prominent awards as the Takemitsu Prize, Grammy Award, Latin Grammy Award, and the Pulitzer Prize.  Since 2012, “Tokyo and New York” has performed over 150 world premieres and numerous Japan and United States Premiers.

The performances will combine new works composed specifically for the dance/music performances, as well as previous works composed for “Tokyo and New York” – the composers include Trevor Bachman, Guy Barash, Kanokpak Changwitchukarn, Chen Yihan, David Del Tredici, Reiko Fueting, Gilbert Galindo, Masatora Goya, Lyudmilla German, JP Jofre, Osamu Kawakami, Ian Ng, Senri Oe, Fernando Otero, Gene Pritsker, Ned Rorem, Miho Sasaki, Michael Schelle, Hifumi Shimoyama, Nina Siniakova, David Su, Kazuyuki Taguchi, and Shoichi Yabuta.

The NYC performances will highlight works by NYC-based composers, with the NYC-based composers and several of the Tokyo-based composers planning to attend the rehearsals and performances.

Project Media

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.
Features: Thomas Piercy

Clarinetist Thomas Piercy performs NYC-based, Japanese composer Masatora Goya’s clarinet concerto “A Summer Long Gone.”

This work was composed for and premiered by Thomas Piercy in a “Tokyo and New York” (東京 と ニューヨーク) concert.

Concerto for Clarinet ​and Mandolin Orchestra.
Composed for Thomas Piercy.

Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.
Features: Miki Orihara

Dancer: Miki Orihara
Director: Tomoko Mikanagi
Music : Senri Oe
Interviews from Miki Orihara; Janet Eilber (Artistic Director of the Martha Graham).

Orihara performs the work of various choreographers, both re-staged and new, including: Martha Graham, José Limón, Martha Clarke, Miki Orihara and Adam Barruch, with a new score by Senri Oe.

Exploring the continuity/lineage between modern dance and contemporary dance, as a new generation of artists begins to create work and inspire the next phase of modern dance.

Guy Barash “Quintet” for bass clarinet, shakuhachi, mandolin, bass shamisen, and vibraphone.
Like this? Login or register to make a playlist of your favorites pieces.
Features: Thomas Piercy

Guy Barash “Quintet” for bass clarinet, shakuhachi, mandolin, bass shamisen, and vibraphone.

Thomas Piercy, conductor
Ryuta Iwase, bass clarinet
Christopher Yohmei Blasdel, shakuhachi
Makoto Aruga, vibraphone
Go Mochizuki, mandolin
Sansuzu Tsuruzawa, bass shamisen

Commissioned by Thomas Piercy.
Presented by Tonada Productions as part of the Tokyo to New York concert series.
Ohmi Gakudo, Tokyo Opera City.
28 April, 2017.

Start and End Dates



NY, New York

Project Created By

New York, New York
Thomas Piercy – Clarinet, Hichiriki http://www.thomaspiercy.com/ http://www.tonadaproductions.com/tokyo-to-new-york.html “Passionate” The New York Times  Thomas Piercy is a critically acclaimed, award-winning musician with appearances throughout the Americas, Europe and Asia. Premiering over 250 works composed for him, described by The New York Times as “evoking a panache in the contemporary works.” Attended Juilliard School, Mannes. Clarinet studies: Gervase…


Leave a Reply